Outpouring of Blessings

The memory verse the kids and I have been working on this last week is James 5:18. In the NKJV, that reads “And he prayed again, and the heavens gave rain, and the earth produced its fruit.” Yesterday felt like God was not just raining down blessing, but pouring it out-and it is still going.

“And he prayed again, and the heavens gave rain, and the earth produced its fruit.”

James 5:18 NKJV

For some, this may not seem like a big deal. But to me, all of these things are huge. To begin with, the night before last, I received the digital pre-release copy of my Heartie friend Camille Eide’s new book. I knew if I started reading it when I first received it, I would be up way too late. So I waited until yesterday to read. (Full disclosure, I’m already a little over half way done with it, I’m almost afraid to stop reading it for too long. Must finish!)

“Heartie“

A fan of Hallmark’s When Calls the Heart

Yesterday morning the kids decided that they wanted to get done with all of their schoolwork early so that when the Usborne box came, they could have a book day and just have fun reading. So before I had even had the chance to finish a cup of coffee, they had both already been hard at work. Once I had a fair amount of caffeine and Daniel was busy with therapy, I went to finish their schoolwork with them. We read a little more from Across Five April’s, discussed the civil war, read a Bible story, read a poem Elijah picked out and discussed its meaning. After completing a spelling lesson, it was just before eleven. The kids were done for the day.

After a filling lunch of chili, and some time playing outside, the kids started getting antsy. Where were their books? They had the work done early so they could enjoy having a book day.

Ironically, it was not our normal letter carrier yesterday. It was somebody we didn’t recognize, and he arrived with our packages hours later than anticipated. But bonus, Amazon showed up with a package for me, too! The copy of Moments Like This by Anna Gomez and Kristoffer Polaha gifted to me by a Chautauqua friend had arrived. The sample I read while waiting has me excited to read what happens next.

Annika was so excited for this new graphic novel
So happy with his new books (and a haircut!)

Here’s the icing on the cake… I got back in to my original Facebook account! It only took sending yet another claim to Facebook. But it finally worked. I downloaded a copy of the photos and videos right away. Set up friends as back-ups in case it ever happens again. Last night as I was completely overcome with emotions at regaining access to such gems as these…

Little Annika
A little grainy, but Elijah with my grandma, and great-grandma shortly before she passed.

As I was going through all the photos and videos that I had begun to question if I would be able to access them again, the Lord reminded me He knows all the hairs on my head. These precious memories matter, too. A verse from Philippians also came to mind.

“And my God will will supply every need of yours according to His riches in glory in Christ Jesus.” Philippians 4:19 ESV

I pray that as your week comes to a close, you will find comfort when you turn to Almighty God and trust Him with your all. Following Him isn’t easy-He told us to take up our cross and follow Him. We need to die to self. But when we do…oh the sweet Peace, Hope, and Joy that makes it possible to face the world saturated spirit and soul. Praying for you today, be blessed. As always, feel free to like, comment or share!

2 thoughts on “Outpouring of Blessings”

  1. Am so happy that you recovered your FB account and family matters have smoothed out. Keeping the Young family in prayer.

    Like

Leave a comment